Next Concert

15 October poster no price print res

Experience the National Capital Orchestra in its largest concert of the year! Proudly opening with the Canberra Premiere of Sally Greenaway’s Worlds Within Worlds, as commissioned by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, this program is set to delight lovers of Romantic and 20th Century music.
Highlighting two lesser-known composers, the full force of the orchestra is truly felt in Alexander Scriabin’s The Poem of Ecstasy. Acclaimed as “a sincere expression of genius,” the symphonic poem will leave you with a grand sense of being larger than life. This is matched by an even larger masterpiece, Josef Suk’s Symphony No.2 “Asrael” for large orchestra in C minor. Having initially intended the work to be composed in memory of his father-in-law and teacher Antonín Dvořák, Suk was struck, mid-composition, by the death of his wife Otilie Suková. The symphony acts as a reflection of Suk’s love and admiration for Dvořák, while showing the full devastation of this double loss as the symphony progresses.
Join conductor Leonard Weiss for this unmissable evening of ground-breaking works for orchestra, and the grand finale of the National Capital Orchestra’s 2016 concert series.


 Venue  Llewellyn Hall

Date 7.30 pm 15th October

Tickets $20 to $40

Bookings   Available from Ticketek